In order to share data with specific persons with read or edit access, you can invite internal users or external partners to a shared item. The users will receive an E-Mail invitation. If an external partner accesses the share, the partner will automatically be logged in as guest user. There are the following options:
You can share E-Mails with internal users with read access.
You can share address books, calendars and tasks with internal users with read or edit access, with external partners only with read access.
You can share folders and files with internal users and external partners with read or edit access.
When sharing items, internal users or external partners are granted certain permissions for the shared data. Information on permissions can be found in 11.2: Permissions. Note the following:
You can not share your personal Inbox folder. In order to grant other users access to your E-Mail messages, share an E-Mail folder that is located below your Inbox folder. Other users have to subscribe to this E-Mail folder then.
You have the exclusive administrator rights for your personal address book, calendar and task folders. You can not grant administrator rights for these folders to other users.
How to invite internal users or external partners to a share:
Select the app that should be used for sharing data.
Select a folder in the folder tree.
Note: Select a folder for which you have the permission to share. Depending on the app, some folders can not be shared.
Click theicon next to the folder name. Click on .
In the Files app, you can also click the icon in the toolbar. Click on .
The window for adjusting the permissions opens.
Enter an E-Mail address in Add people. The E-Mail address will be added to the list as internal user, group or guest. Preset permissions are granted.
If required, enter a message.
To edit the permissions for internal users, you have the following options.
To adjust a user role, click on the entry in. Select an entry from the menu.
To adjust the permission details, click on the entry in. Select a permission from the menu.
In order to remove a permission, click theicon next to the name. Click on .
If you share a folder in the Files app, you can transfer the folder's permissions to all existing or newly created subfolders of this folder. To do so, enable .
If no E-Mail notifications about the shared item are to be sent, disable.
Note: The checkbox can not be enabled when inviting external partners to a shared item.